May 03, 2019

Quick Stats

Weight: 195

Height: 5’10

Age: 30

Matt Muller was born and raised in Phoenix, AZ with his twin brother, and has been involved in athletics and fitness since the age of 7. Following years of competitive sports including basketball and football, he found bodybuilding and since then has ultimately adopted the complete fitness lifestyle. He is a certified personal trainer as well as a college graduate with a Bachelor’s Degree in Information Technology. His well-rounded education eventually led to entrepreneurship and business development in various fields ranging from Veteran assistance non-profit programs to advanced environmental project investments.
Matt enjoys a healthy, balanced lifestyle consisting of traveling to new places and partaking in above-average cheat meals. His strong beliefs and values derive from his upbringing, including faith, dedication, honesty, humility, and integrity. His future goals include starting a family, buying his mom a house, and striving to make a lasting, helpful and positive impact on others’ lives.
 

Why fitness? 

I have always been an athlete but I adopted the bodybuilding and fitness lifestyle right out of high school. I had seen magazine covers as a kid with these fitness models that had phenomenal physiques so immediately I knew I wanted to look the same one day. I lift and train now purely for the enjoyment and the aesthetic look. I like to live a balanced life where I can physically look good, while still enjoying a fun night out and not destroying my body in or out of the gym.

 

What sets you apart from other athletes? 

I think the biggest thing that sets me apart from other athletes is how in tune I am with my body, both with bodybuilding and everyday life. I take a lot of pride in training the correct way to prevent injury as well as taking care of my body while recovering.

 

How would your best friend describe you?

I think my best friend would most likely describe me as pretty laid back. I’m very relaxed and chill most of the time unless I’m part of a social outing. My girlfriend Olivia brings out the fun and random side of me so I feel pretty well-rounded. As far as being in the gym goes through, I usually tune out the rest of the world, put my head down and get to work!

 

 

What are your personal long term and short term goals? 

A long term goal of mine (if you can call it that) would be to start a family. I feel like personal success will always be there but starting and building a family can’t really be put off too long. Becoming a dad is something I’ve always wanted for myself.

 

Who inspires you and why? 

A long time ago my biggest inspiration was Michael Jordan. As a kid I wanted to be a pro NBA player so I became his biggest fan and was able to see really how much work he put into his craft. Overall, I am less about finding people who inspire me and more so about being inspired by the character of a person.

 

What is your favorite Type of workout?

The best workout I could ever have is when I have 100% focus on what I’m doing the entire time. So often I can let my mind wander and not be fully present in what I’m doing so that can definitely take away from my workouts. My biggest current focus now is leg development, training 2x per week.

 

What keeps you going on the hard days? 

Mainly coffee, energy drinks, and a strong desire to remain at the top of my game. If there’s ever a time when I’m not motivated to get out of bed in the morning, then I know there is a problem.

 

What are your favorite times to use your Gripped Headphones? 

The only times I use headphones at all now is in the gym training and during cardio so I love going back and forth between my Frees and Equalizers depending upon what I’m training that day. Most workouts consist of intense hip hop/rap and rock/screamo tracks.

 

What has been your favorite moment throughout your fitness journey? 

My favorite moment was meeting my current girlfriend Olivia backstage at a bodybuilding show where we both competed. She actually came up to me and introduced herself, so I like to consider that a very proud moment for me (haha).

 

 

What’s a random fact that many people wouldn’t know about you? 

Most people don’t know that I’m a huge tech nerd. I graduated from college with a degree in IT and one of my biggest (and most expensive) hobbies is building custom computers.

 

What has been your biggest challenge through your fitness journey, and how did you overcome it? 

My biggest challenge from an early age was making sure I was training properly. I would see a lot of guys progressing faster than I was and I soon realized that how I was training was just plain wrong. Every little detail matters!

 

What advice would you pass on to someone in their own fitness journey? 

The best advice I can give is to go at your own pace and don’t worry about competing with those around you. Comparing yourself physically to others is inevitable while living the fitness lifestyle, but it is best to avoid it and focus on making small improvements every day. It’s you vs you.

 

What workout routine has worked best for you?

Right now my routine is:

 

M: Quads

T: Chest

W: Arms

TH: Delts

F: Hammies / Glutes

S: Back

Su: REST DAY

 

what does a typical day of eating look like for you? 

Most days my diet consists of 5-6 meals, each containing 50g of protein along with some sort of green veggies. My post workout meal is the only one that has carbs in it, usually around 75g since I am currently dieting down. Throughout the day with my non-carb meals, I’ll also include some almonds or mixed nuts for added fats.

 

What's your favorite place to eat?

Manuel’s Mexican Food in Phoenix, AZ

 

What is your Favourite Quote?

 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me – Phil 4:13

 

What are your hobbies and interests outside of fitness?

As I mentioned briefly, I’m a big tech guy so I like to have the latest and greatest of everything. Other than that I like to be outdoors hiking or going shooting. Most of the time though, I enjoy nothing more than a cheat meal while binge watching Netflix.

 

What is your favorite exercise to perform and why?

I can’t say that I have a favorite exercise at all. Everything is equal to me.

 

 

How many pairs of shoes do you own?

Taking a guess.. probably 15-20

 

If you could only have one meal for the rest of your life what would it be?

Pizza

 

What type of music do you listen to?

I love everything but most of the time hip hop/ rap and rock.

 

Are there any foods they don't enjoy that they force themselves to consume?

Egg whites used to be a big one when I competed but I don’t eat them anymore.

 

What is the worst injury you have ever had?

I broke my left Tibia 4-wheeling back in 2007. Took me 3 months to walk again but all has healed great since then.

 

What is the last movie that you watched?

How to Train Your Dragon 3

 

What is your most unusual talent?

I wouldn’t say I have any unusual talents but I have been very tech savvy since I was a little kid, always building things and taking things apart.

 

 Follow Matt on Instagram

 @mattmullerfit

  Matt Muller Spotify

 

 


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.